

Corff Llywodraethol Yr Eglwys yng Nghymru The Governing Body of The Church in Wales

Standing Committee

A Meeting of the Standing Committee of the Governing Body of the Church in Wales was held at the International Convention Centre Wales on 4 September 2023.

Present:

Ex-officio Members

The Most Reverend the Archbishop of Wales
The Right Reverend the Bishop of St Asaph
The Right Reverend the Bishop of Monmouth
The Right Reverend the Bishop of Swansea & Brecon
The Right Reverend the Bishop of Llandaff
Professor Medwin Hughes, CBE, DL, Chair of the Representative Body
Mrs Hilary Wiseman, Deputy Chair of the Representative Body

Nominated by Diocesan Standing Committees

Mr Paul Whittaker CBE
The Reverend Richard Wood
Ms Susan Fogarty
The Venerable Paul Mackness
Mr Tim Llewelyn (Chair)
The Venerable Rod Green
Dr Heather Payne (Vice-chair)
The Reverend John Connell
The Reverend Justin Davies
Mr Paul Murray

Co-opted

His Honour Judge Andrew Keyser KC Sir Paul Silk

In Attendance:

The Provincial Secretary, the Governing Body Officer, the Governance Manager and the Head of Legal Services.

Apologies

Apologies were received from: The Reverend Christine Owen and Dr Jayne Collier.

Welcome

The Chair welcomed all members to the meeting.

Prayers

Opening prayers were said by the Archbishop.

Archbishop's report back to the Standing Committee following the meeting of the Priorities Working Group

23/33

The Priorities Working Group charged by the Standing Committee to map out where to find new ways to co-operate had met for a residential gathering in Shrewsbury on 31 July and 1 August 2023. The Archbishop introduced a paper documenting the group's discussions and setting out a proposed set of priorities for the Church in Wales.

The Standing Committee welcomed the work undertaken and during discussions a number of suggestions and refinements were made. It was noted that following further feedback from the Governing Body and the Bench, the final document would return to the Standing Committee on 30 November 2023 with recommendations for decision.

The Chair and Committee thanked Chris Pyrah, the Executive Assistant to the Provincial Secretary, for producing the note of the priorities working group.

Safeguarding – Chair of the Safeguarding Committee and the Provincial Safeguarding Panel

23/34

The Standing Committee decided in September 2020 to appoint a remunerated Chair of the Safeguarding Panel for a period of three years until 30 September 2023. Since his appointment the Chair, Mr Tony Young, had also been appointed as Chair of the Safeguarding Committee. Mr Young was content to reappointed for a further period of three years. The Standing Committee noted that Mr Young was an experienced safeguarding professional and a former Head of Social Services for Cardiff County Council. He was also chair of the National Independent Safeguarding Board for Wales.

The Standing Committee therefore re-appointed Mr Tony Young as independent, remunerated chair of both the Safeguarding Panel and the Safeguarding Committee for the three-year period from 1 October 2023 - 30 September 2026.

Date of the next meeting 23/35

The next meeting of the Standing Committee, the final scheduled meeting of the triennium, was scheduled to take place on Thursday 30 November in person at the provincial office.

Closing Prayers

The Bishop of Swansea and Brecon closed the meeting in prayer.

SC Minutes 4/9/23 J.R. 15.09.23